Power Play

Today, I chose to do the Three Word Wednesday ds106 assignment. The assignment was to go to this site and find the three words for this week and use them in some form of written work. The words for this week are control, flesh, and razor. I’m going to do the writing first, and detail the process at the end, if you don’t mind, so that anyone linking from there doesn’t have to read the entire post. It shall be brief.

Untitled

It was quiet, in this dark room, except for the muffled sobbing from the man in the chair. He had long since given up on escape — the bindings, whatever they were, cut deep into his flesh.

The other individual in the room was enjoying the sounds as he surveyed his weapons. He was done with the blunt instruments for a bit — though he did enjoy the sight of forming bruises, they did not give him the same sense of control that his sharper toys did. Walking down the line on the table, his eyes settled on the perfect blade.

He picked up the straight razor and grinned.

Fin

Sorry, it’s a bit creepy, I know.

So, process. I decided I wanted to do a writing assignment — the photography for the Daily Create is going to kill me, I’m sure. And the moment I saw the Three Word Wednesday assignment, I knew I wanted to try it. When I clicked over to see what the words were, I immediately had an idea.

I know, I went for the obvious a bit here. I was watching Criminal Minds earlier, so my first thought was serial killer. I do hope I successfully got that across, but that’s a bit difficult in 109 words, so I’m not sure I managed. Still, that’s where I was trying to go with it.

That’s really all I have to say on the subject. It occurs to me now that there were other things I could have done, but this idea wouldn’t let me go enough to think of them until after it was written. I suppose I could write them now, but I like the creepy drabble, so I don’t want to take away from it. I feel like if I write something else with the same three words that is in an entirely different direction, it will take away from what I managed to do with that. I might have to do this again, though, next week — we’ll see. I thought this one was pretty cool. If I see words next week that speak to me the same way, well, I suppose you’ll find out.

Take care!

~Ekhlami

9 comments on “Power Play

  1. The story makes me think of Reservoir Dogs. All it needs is a little bit of “Stuck in the Middle With You” playing in the background.

      • Yes, it was meant as a positive comment. Looking back, I can see how it might be interpreted as snarky. Maybe I should learn to use emoticons.
        I actually like that it’s lacking background and resolution. It’s like a vignette, and it’s up to the reader to supply context. In that way, it’s an exercise in imagination as much for the reader as the author. Well done.

    • I thought the same thing with the grin at the end. And word up on that song playing in the background.

      Every time I hear “Stuck in the Middle with You” that scene comes to mind.

      In terms of this short bit of writing, I’d say you get a lot of bang for your buck. There is a whole lot going on here. I couldn’t believe when you said it was only 109 words.

      Brilliant!!

      And I don’t think the Daily Create is going to kill you. Rather, I think it will be the other way around.

  2. Reading this piece I felt I wanted a little more or little less as there was no clue to the background only the palpable hurt affecting us without resolution. You have succeeded in getting a comment from me but somehow I still am dissatisfied.

    • Thank you for your honest feedback. In all honesty, I haven’t really written anything in several years, so while I’m working on it, I’m really grateful for any critiques that I’m given.
      I might go back and write a longer piece on how this scene was arrived at, but I’ll have to see. Right now, I’m still trying to get words to fit together again.
      My sincerest appreciation for your comment. I hope you have a wonderful day.

Leave a Reply

